Gneiss House

Low-pressure home metamorphism

Closing

After closing, my parents and I drove over to my new house and ripped out the carpet.

This is my first house. It’s a 1300 square foot, 65 year old twin west of Philadelphia. Corner lot, up a little slope from the sidewalk. Three bedrooms, one harvest gold bath, old gray and green kitchen, unfinished basement; gas heat but an electric stove. Wall-to-wall (to wall, to wall) mint green carpet, except the kitchen and bathroom, with their cheap linoleum. The rug was the top priority while the house was empty. I had to move my furniture onto the floors within twelve days.

Image

The living room, including mint carpet. (All the photos in this post are from the original seller’s listing.)

Image

The carpet was everywhere.

Image

…even in the closets and the tiny little hallway.

Image

Harvest gold!

My family and I had removed carpet before, so we thought we knew what to expect. What we didn’t anticipate was that the previous homeowner had hired the most nail- and staple-happy carpet installation contractors in the western hemisphere. It took four of us (and a lot of blisters), including a strong friend, several days to get all the carpet, padding, staples, and tackless out. The lousy carpet installers also removed all the base shoe molding and ruined about 18 feet’s worth of flooring panels.

I knew there was hardwood under the carpet, with a relatively dark red stain. It had remained exposed in the back of the master closet. The quality of the wood flooring exposed after we pulled up the carpet was pretty poor, though. Aside from the damaged panels, the integrity of the wood was all right, but there were a couple big water stains, lots of scratches, and very uneven panels.

Next time: sanding!

Author: Lumberjack Lynne

Geologist by trade, redesigning my little piece of property so it's greener, friendlier, and my very own.

Comments are closed.